Founded in 1992, the JOURNALIST ASSOCIATION OF INDIA (JAI) is a non Profit professional and education organisation and regd. with registrar of society of India (Government of India) in 1994, under the society registration Act 1860 India.

Home > International, News, Press Releases > Journalists, artists honoured by JAOI with National Award 2008

Journalists, artists honoured by JAOI with National Award 2008

Print Friendly

90’s diva Madhuri Dixit was awarded the Best Actress honour while veteran actor Pankaj Kapoor won the Best actor award, Super Star of Bhoujpuri Movies Ravi Kissen won Best Actor in Regional category. Censor Board Chairperson Sharmila Tagore was given the Lifetime Achievement award for her contribution in the field of cinema, Best Media Relation officer award to Major Vinod Krishna (ONGC), Lushin Dubey Best Stage Actress, Suresh Chopra won Artist in Excellency Award, Best Dancer Award to Fernando Aguilera of Argentina (Ballet), Chief Minister of Delhi Sheila Dikshit was awarded the Best Chief Minister of India, as the Journalist association of India today honoured several eminent citizens, artists and media persons for their contribution in their respective fields.

Other recipients of the awards, given away by Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit at a ceremony, organized by Journalist Association of India, held in New Delhi, India, on 12th July, 2008, while in the journalism category, UNI correspondent Prakash Bhargava got the All around Lifetime Achievement award while Times of India Sports Journalist Kewel Kaushik (wonder stroke) was given the Lifetime Achievement award for sports journalism. Special Correspondent, The Tribune, Ravi Bhatia, has been conferred with the Best Male Journalist award in English print media. Hindustan Times’s senior journalist, Kumkum Chadha, was named the Best Women Journalist in the print media. Best Women Journalist Sarita Brara of AIR, Arvind Kumar Singh of Haribhumi (Hindi) print media, Shahid Azmi of Hindustan Express (previously working with China Radio) Best Journalist in regional language (Urdu). The Best Newspaper award went to the “The Times of India”.

TV anchors Karan Thapar (ITV) , Rajat Sharma (India TV) and Sumeet Awasthy (IBN 7) Best Male Journalist in TV, included Barkha Dutt of the NDTV Best Women Journalist TV, Best Crime Reporter (male) Neeraj Thakur of ZEE TV, and Suman Kansara of Aaj Tak TV.Thapar was given the award for the Best Current Affairs Critic while Rajat Sharma was awarded Best Presenter for his popular Aap Ki Adalat programme. Others in the awardee list are Arun Kapoor of ANI Best Video Journalist (international current Affairs), Babar Masood of India TV Best Cameramen (sports and foreign affairs), Deepak Haldanker Best Cinematographer, Shailender Pandey of Thelka Magzine Best Male photojournalist (Print) Magzine, Mohd. Zakir of PTI Best Photojournalist in ( print) news agency were awarded for their contribution to the media by the Journalists Association of India,

The National Best Newspaper award went to ‘The Times of India’, the National Best Hindi News Channel award to the ‘Aaj Tak’ while the National Best English News Channel award was bagged by TV 18′s CNN IBN.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 1992-2013. Journalist Association of India. All rights reserved.
Customized by JAI Team.
Hit Counters Visits so far.